The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

Goodreads Rating: 3.92 stars

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Not all monsters are terrible and not all humans are good, but to Hazel and her brother Ben, the faeries living in the forest on the edge of Fairfold have always been mysterious and dangerous – somewhere in between good and bad. The seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists and keeps the townspeople on their toes, but many people don’t know just how dangerous the fae can be. The one thing that attracts the most attention is the strange glass coffin in the middle of the woods, in which a beautiful boy with horns and pointed ears has been sleeping for as long as the townspeople can remember. Tourists and townspeople alike go to visit and take pictures, but when the boy wakes one day, leaving the glass coffin shattered and minimal clues as to where he went, Hazel and Ben must figure out what this means and just how much danger Fairfold is in before it’s too late.

Holly Black has always been and will continue to be one of my very favourite authors and this novel continues to prove itself worthy. I absolutely adore her talent for creating such a brilliant world in one single book without needing to elaborate or expand beyond just one single book (even if I could read endless amounts of books in her created universes). I always finish her books desperately wanting more – even if it’s a standalone – or running to the bookstore for the next one. While it was a little rushed at times, I loved how she created so many creatures based in myth in such an easily visualised way and made them her own. I felt like I was in the world while I was reading it and I am so not ashamed to admit that I finished this one in 2 sittings and since finishing it for the first time I have reread it two more times.

Recommended for: fans of the fae, people who enjoy faerie tales, LGBTQ readers

Leave a Reply

