Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/fever/images/2/28/Bloodfever.jpeg/revision/latest?cb=20120815215248

Goodreads rating: 4.31 stars — My rating: 2 stars

I tried, guys. I really, really wanted to like this series. Don’t hate me for quitting on it after book two. I might attempt to read book 3 at a later point in time.

After learning that she and her sister were both adopted – and descended from the ancient Celtic sidhe-seers (people who could see the fae for what they really were) – Mac is on the quest to find the Sinsar Dubh, an ancient book that could mean the end of the world as we know it if it falls into the wrong hands. She still doesn’t know much about the irresistible Jericho Barrons, but she does know he’s dangerous, but without him, she’s in way over her head. Now that the human world and the fae world are coming dangerously close together, Mac is the only thing (besides Jericho Barrons) that stands in the way of the destruction of the human race.

I’m so disappointed that I didn’t like this series as much as everyone else seemed to have loved it. The characters still fall flatter than tissue paper and are (somehow) more cliché than they were in the first book. Tall-dark-handsomes, a “not ditzy” blonde (gone dark – literally) that are unconventionally attractive, but every guy seems to lust after her anyway (you know who I’m talking about), and cackling evil dudes leading an army of things that go bump in the night. Oh my stars, where do I begin? Admittedly, I did not read this book as thoroughly as I ordinarily read (if we’re going on word count, I probably read about 2/3 of it). I started off reading roughly the first quarter as per usual, but as it went on (and on and on), I couldn’t bring myself to read every single fluffed out description. I think that if all the fluffy descriptions were removed, this book would maybe have 50-100 pages of actual plot, and that’s being generous. I am still in love with the concept and world building and all that, but for the sake of all that exists, I cannot take any more 10 page interludes describing how much Mac misses being cute and blonde and beautiful or paragraph after paragraph describing how attractive some guy is (okay, maybe they weren’t ten pages long…). Not to mention, the plot doesn’t do much of anything in this book – I’d say it develops about as much as the characters do. As I said, I really wish I could’ve enjoyed this as much as much as everyone else seemed to, but I just can’t jump onto this bandwagon, no matter how much I want to. The worldbuilding and concept still catch me, but everything else just… the good is not worth the heaping amounts of ugh, eye rolling, and page after monotonous page that was happening, unfortunately.

This reminds me a lot of Janet Evanovich, now that I think about it… Janet Evanovich with faeries. So those of you who enjoy a lot of fluff with a little bit of fast-paced action, give this a go, you might enjoy it a lot more than I did. I’d also recommend this for anyone who likes urban fantasy and/or the fae – so long as you can put up with the characters and (lack of) development.

Leave a Reply

