Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (ill. ed.) by J.K. Rowling (Illustrated by Jim Kay)

harry-potter-illustrated

Goodreads rating:  — My rating: 5 stars *****

Oh. My. Stars. I thought I couldn’t enjoy Harry Potter any more than I already did.

I think you all probably know of the boy who lived, but for those of you that need a refresher: The boy who lived: something young Harry Potter didn’t even know he was. All he knows is that he has a strange, lightning bolt shaped scar on his forehead,  a dolt of a step-brother, and an aunt and uncle who would never love him as much as his parents had before they died. But when Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry sends him (many) acceptance letters, despite his lack of application (and presumed lack of funds), he quickly finds out he and his parents are a part of something much bigger than just the three of them and he is whisked away into a world of magic wands that actually work, literal spelling lessons, and a potions teacher who seems to be… up to something. Could He Who Must Not Be Named, the man who murdered Harry’s parents and was presumed dead himself, really be back? Worse yet, could he be out to finish what he started years ago when he killed James and Lilly Potter?

I’ll say it again: Oh my stars. I cannot gush about how much I love this series – The Sorcerer’s Stone will always hold a special place on my bookshelf, though my favourite is probably The Goblet of Fire or The Half-Blood Prince. The illustrations in this beautiful edition are in stunning full colour on semi-glossy pages that make everything pop. And, because it’s technically a children’s book, the type is large enough for me to read without struggling if I’ve forgotten my reading specs. As far as the story goes, while there are some minor flaws, such as the slightly uneven pacing, the story more than makes up for it. It’s an absolutely wonderful YA story that I think will become one of the classics.

Recommended for: Everyone. Well, everyone who likes fantasy, doesn’t mind reading children’s books, and loves a magical story.

Leave a Reply

