Crimson Peak (the film directed by Guillermo del Toro and The Official Movie Novelization by Nancy Holder)

 

Rotten Tomatoes: 71% (3.5 stars) My Rating: 4.5 stars

Goodreads Rating: 3.91 stars — My Rating: 4.5 stars

“Beware of Crimson Peak.”

Ominous, yes, but when you hear this from the horrifying ghost of your dead mother in the middle of the night as a child, this is infinitely more terrifying. For years, Edith hasn’t thought about the threatening warning, nor does she when she meets Thomas Sharpe, Baronet, of Cumberland, England, and his sister, Lucille Sharpe. The last thing she expects is to marry the man, or for that warning to actually have meaning.

I can’t tell you how much I love gothic stories. Originally, I saw this film when it was first in theatres November of 2015 – we had been interested in seeing it and she lived quite a ways away from me, so I decided to have an adventure out to visit and we could go see it together. I am a huge fan of anything Guillermo del Toro and Tom Hiddleston, so I knew I couldn’t go wrong with this combination and it absolutely did not let me down. I actually preordered the movie and book that night after returning to her dorm to spend the night. At times, it’s gruesome, but for the most part, the fear comes from within as a subtle inkling, as is the usual with gothic stories, but the extra layer added by the ghosts of Allerdale Hall adds another layer to the story. Even without the added ghosts, this would’ve still been just as scary, because with gothics the human element has to be the key point – everything else is extra – and Guillermo del Toro makes this work incredibly well with the ghosts, set, and plot. Everything works together beautifully to create a very haunting and atmospheric world.

Ordinarily I tend to avoid reading film-to-book novelizations because they don’t tend to be as good as the film(or, strangely better than the film); I don’t make a strict rule of it or anything, but I certainly won’t actively seek it out unless it’s a film I’ve really seriously enjoyed and think the book will be worth reading. I am so glad that I picked this book up; it gave a whole new perspective on the events of the film that film cannot convey, such as internal monologues/thoughts. It’s by no means in the characters’ heads all the time, but it gives enough to make it really interesting. Where the film could give you more visual perspective, the book could give you more mental perspective. For once, I’d have to say I’ve found a book and movie that are equal! No matter if you read it or watch it, Crimson Peak will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Recommended for: fans of gothic literature, fans of Guillermo del Toro, fans of any of the cast of this film, horror fans, and ghost hunters

Leave a Reply

